Good Luck Chuck Review

 

This film is Mark Helfrich’s debut as a director, and he has Jessica Alba and myspace comedian Dane Cook to help get his name made.

This movie surrounds an urban legend of this guy, Charlie “Chuck” Logan (Dane Cook), who for some bizarre reason whenever a girl has sex with him, the next man she meets is always Mr. Right for her. Charlie meets Cam Wexler (Jessica Alba) at the wedding reception of one of his ex-girlfriends. Cam is a clumsy and cute penguin freak, and Charlie becomes infatuated with her. He wants her, but at the same time doesn’t want to make her run away and marry the next guy she meets after he sleeps with her, and then the awkward comedy begins.

This movie really and truly sucks. I’ve seen a few reviews floating around the net and none of them were good, I even remember one in which the reviewer said (cant remember the direct quote) something to the extent of “anyone who likes this movie has reserved a space in hell”. However, I grit my teeth and sat through the painful ninety-five minutes of crap so that I could tell you about it. This movie really really sucks. I mean, it has it’s cute romantic comedy thing going, but it just went way too overboard with it, especially after the first sixty minutes (which was half bearable) where Charlie was “attempting” to keep Cam, utter rot. One of my many thoughts while I was watching this movie was that a lot of it felt very much like a Dane Cook stand up, which is really a fifty-fifty chance your taking, he used to be really weird funny to me, but recently he just sucks, especially his HBO special he did about a year or so ago. More than likely everytime Dane went on set to film a scene, before they started he dragged this newbie director (who probably knew Dane Cook was the only reason the movie was being made, so Dane Cook gets what Dane Cook wants) to the sidelines, and said something like: “I think this scene would kick balls if like I did it like” <insert a lot of physical motions and body deformations here>. So ye, the movie definitely should not be viewed by the public, the company should recall all copies of this film and have them burnt and anyone bootlegging this film please delete it, it isn’t worth however long it takes you to illegally download.

IMDB says 5.1/10
Rotten Tomatoes says 2%
I say 2.4/10

Leave a comment